I’m a convert.

Last night I accepted Garageband as my personal Lord and Savior.  It has been just under two weeks since the goods arrived and I have foresaken everything else I used to proselytize about. Bear in mind that I’m sure there are other great religions out there:  Reason, Cubase, Nuendo, Pro Tools, Logic, Etc. but Garageband got to me first so for the time being I’ll be tithing to them. 

There is one thing I am having an issue with though.  When I record I like to take notes about, among other things, what recording levels I use so that I can re-record at the same level down the road if need be.  So far, with the Apogee Duet, I have been unable to figure out how to get any sort of numerical reading of the recording level.  There is just a knob with LED dots.  The dots will tell you the range you need to be in, but that is not precise enough for me.  I want to know the exact level so I can write it down and duplicate it later.  I am running into a problem right now whereas I am trying to duplicate a vocal track that I have already recorded and I cannot find the sweet spot that I found the first time.  If I knew the specifics of the original recording level, I would be able to set it precisely the second time around. 

I have other gripes rising to the surface which I will address as they become more annoying.  But of now I am still marveling at the fact that I finally found a program that helps me understand how someone can be a total computer geek.  Last Friday night I went downtown to meet some friends and go see Jackie Greene.  when I got there, I turned around and came home.  Why?  Because holing up with garageband sounded like way more fun.  Scary.  The antisocial behavior is already setting in.

Leave a Reply

