Playing guitar for my kids

My two boys are 3 and 4.  It was not until recently that they expressed any desire for me to play guitar for them.  Now we have a great routine;  At the end of the day, Melanie reads them books in bed for 1/2 hour or so and then I am called in to play a few songs on the guitar.  Melanie calls me the closer.  She does all the heavy lifting, pitching 8 1/3 solid innings, and all I have to do is get 2 outs.  It’s a great gig. 

I typically play the same few songs because the boys get comfortable with them and don’t want to change the routine.  Sun Valley Sally is first, then Peru, then I Won’t Curse the Sunrise.  It is really cool to be able to finish the night playing guitar to the boys.  And since my wife is a voracious reader, she thinks it is really cool to be able to finish the night reading to them.  It is a lovely ritual that we are enjoying greatly, but which will surely come to an end at some point.  Sigh.

This entry was posted in Music.

Leave a Reply

