The twelve days of obsession

I feel very grateful today. 12 days ago (January 16th, 2013), on a very non-descript Wednesday, I decided, for no particular reason, to attempt to run a marathon on April 7th. I said I would give it until the end of the month to see how I felt before fully committing. Well, there are still 5 days before the end of the month but I have already made the decision to enter the San Luis Obispo Marathon. I have logged 50 miles in 12 days and have been eating vegan for 7 of those and I feel great. I ran a very difficult trail run of almost a 1/2 marathon yesterday and today I do not feel much worse for the wear. And the reason I say I feel grateful is because there still seems to be a sense of possibility in this rickety 41 year old body of mine. I feel a real sense of wonder as I jump headlong into this obsession (yes, I am totally obsessed. I readily admit that). And it is very gratifying to make a leap of faith and try something new and challenging only to be rewarded with positive results. I am SO FAR away from actually achieving my goal and I have a lot of training to do before I finish 26.2, but I feel strong, excited, and optimistic.

By the way, on the music front, I am going to see Band of Skulls tonight, a great British trio. I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

