Twisted Ankle and Maybe a Broken Bone. Yeah!

I am starting to feel a bit like the boy who cried wolf, but this time I think it is for real. 10 days ago I thought i had torn a calf muscle. After a day of grieving I realized it was not so. Then a week ago I thought I had destroyed my left arm in a skateboarding accident, but that too was a false alarm. But This past Saturday took the cake. 8 miles into a great trail run, i twisted my left ankle badly and I think I re-broke my foot in the same place i broke it two years ago while playing soccer. It was a wicked twist and I had to stop running immediately. Tomorrow I go to the doctor and will hopefully get the final word.

The lesson: Well, I was running fast, trying to chase my running cohorts who were well in front of me. Had I been running solo, I would not have been trying to run so fast. Also, I stayed out late the night before. I went to a Dr. John concert, had too many beers, and had a very short sleep. I actually felt great on the run, but did that play into things? Who knows.

So I am done. My valiant 4 week old effort to whip myself into shape for the San Luis Obispo Marathon comes to a screeching halt after turning an ankle. I am very bummed, because I was feeling good and running well. Now I will have to see how rehab goes and will maybe consider doing a marathon next year. Maybe this is a sign that I need to stick to my guns and NOT gear up for any races, as they always just seem to get me into trouble. Maybe this is a sign that I should get back to playing guitar and writing songs. Maybe I stick to swimming. But that is all bullshit because I will run again. It is too much fun.

Leave a Reply

